ARI Honors Industry Leaders
Nov 18, 2004
 Print this page

The Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (ARI) recognized eight industry leaders at its 51st annual meeting held in Scottsdale, AZ, U.S.

ARI Chairman David R. Pannier presented the 2004 Richard C. Schulze Distinguished Service Award for outstanding service to the air-conditioning and refrigeration industry to Maureen Beatty, Thomas E. Bettcher, Edward W. Dooley, Scott Postle, and Robert Wilkins. The Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA) was presented with the ARI Meritorious Service Award and Daniel W. Holmes, Jr. and Kenneth A. Ohlemeyer were presented with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The awards are given in recognition of distinguished service and commitment to ARI and the air-conditioning and refrigeration industry.

  • Maureen Beatty, vice president of Operations for National Refrigerants, Inc., received the Schulze Distinguished Service Award. She served as chairman of ARI's Reclaimed Refrigerant product section for many years and helped with the creation of the Industry Recycling Guide. In addition, Ms. Beatty helped ARI in the development of a 2002 Transportation Department regulation on refrigerant cylinder shipping.

  • Thomas E. Bettcher, president and CEO of Copeland Corporation, received the Schulze Distinguished Service Award for support and counsel to ARI, including his work as chairman of the ARI Board of Directors during ARI's 50th anniversary celebration in 2003. Mr. Bettcher served as chairman of ARI's Education and Training Committee from 1998 through 2001.

  • Edward W. Dooley served as vice president of Communications and Education at ARI for more than 12 years until his recent retirement. He received the Schulze Distinguished Service Award for his help in guiding ARI through the phaseout of CFCs by crafting policy statements, speeches, and articles. Mr. Dooley served as secretary of ARI's Board of Directors, Executive Committee and as a board member of both the Clifford H. "Ted" Rees Scholarship Foundation and the Partnership for Air Conditioning, Heating, Refrigeration Accreditation (PAHRA) program.

  • Scott Postle, manager of Marketing Statistics for The Carrier Corporation, received the Schulze Distinguished Service Award for his role in streamlining ARI's statistics programs. Mr. Postle served five terms as chairman of ARI's General Statistics Committee and also as chairman of ARI's Unitary Statistics Committee.

  • Robert Wilkins, president of Danfoss, received the Schulze Distinguished Service Award for his service to ARI as a product section and committee chairman. He has served on ARI's Executive Committee since 1998, and was ARI Treasure from 1998 to 2002. Robert is chairman of the ARI Expo Policy Committee and also serves on the Joint ARI/ASHRAE Expo Policy Committee, which he chaired in 2002. Mr. Wilkins also serves on the ARI Audit Committee and the ARI Budget and Investment Committee.

  • The 2004 ARI Meritorious Service Award was presented to the Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA) for support of ARI's regulatory, legislative, educational, and consumer initiatives.

  • Daniel W. Holmes, Jr., chairman of Morrison Products, was presented the ARI Lifetime Achievement Award for his more than two decades of ARI leadership, first as a product section chairman beginning in 1978 and later as ARI treasurer from 1988 to 1993, and as ARI director-at-large from 1994 to 2001. He served an 18-month term as chairman of ARI's board of directors beginning May 5, 2001. Mr. Holmes represented ARI at more events abroad than any other chairman. As an advisory member of the board of directors, he continues to provide assistance on industry matters.

  • Also receiving an ARI Lifetime Achievement Award was Kenneth Ohlemeyer, president of Sporlan Valve Company. Mr. Ohlemeyer has given more than four decades of service to his company and helped ARI through the phase out of CFC refrigerants. He became a member of ARI's Flow Control Valves Product Section in 1982, served as vice chairman of ARI's International Committee in 1988, served as chairman of ARI's Expo Policy Committee from 1995 to 1997 and served on ARI's Executive Committee as vice president from 1996 to 1997.

    Back to Breaking News