CEA Elects New Chair, Executive Board
Nov 4, 2004
 Print this page

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) announced that Loyd Ivey, chairman and CEO of Mitek Corp., has been elected chair of CEA's executive board and Patrick Lavelle, president and CEO of Audiovox Electronics Corp., has been elected vice chair.

CEA members also elected John Flanner, president of Flanner's Audio & Video, to serve on the executive board, making Mr. Flanner the first retailer to join CEA's governing body. Last year, CEA TechHome Division Chair Thomas Callahan, president of Sawyers Control Systems, became the first non-manufacturer to sit on CEA's executive board.

CEA Lifetime Achievement Award winner Jerry Kalov of Kay Associates was reelected as industry executive advisor. In this role, Mr. Kalov serves as a liaison between the CEA board and staff.

Other members of the executive board include Gary Shapiro, president and CEO; current past Chairman Kathy Gornik, president of Thiel Audio; At-Large Members John Clough, president of Casio Inc.; John Shalam, chairman and CEO of Audiovox Corp.; and Al Silverberg, CEO of Uniden America Corp.; along with the chairs of each of CEA's seven product divisions:

  • Accessories -- Mike O'Neal, president and CEO of Gemini Industries
  • Audio -- Gary Warzin, president of Audiophile Systems Ltd.
  • Mobile Electronics -- Jim Geschke, vice president and general manager of Johnson Controls Inc.
  • PARA -- John Flanner, president of Flanner's Audio & Video
  • TechHome -- Thomas Callahan, president of Sawyer Control Systems
  • Video -- Peter Fannon, vice president, Technology Policy and Regulatory Affairs of Panasonic
  • Wireless Communications -- Mike Mohr of Celluphone Inc.

    Also new to CEA's executive board are CEA CFO Glenda MacMullin, who was elected treasurer and CFO, and CEA General Counsel Becky Ellis, who was elected secretary and general counsel.

    The executive board is responsible for setting the overall strategic direction of CEA's annual budget and annual association-wide goals. The new board members will assume their leadership positions on Jan. 1, 2005.

    Back to Breaking News