Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame Honors 11 Industry Leaders
Jan 5, 2004
 Print this page

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) announced the 2004 class of inductees to the Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame. This year, the CE Hall of Fame honored 11 individuals worldwide who, according to the CEA, have played a role in shaping the consumer electronics industry.

A panel of 17 industry professionals and media members selected the 2004 class based on integrity, character, and impact on the CE industry. The inductees are listed below.

  • Alan Blumlein, EMI
  • Henry Brief, Home Furnishings Daily
  • Joel Engel, Bell Labs
  • Richard Frankiel, Bell Labs
  • Robert E. Gerson, TWICE
  • Ken Kai, Pioneer
  • Jerry Kalov, Kay Associates; Cobra Electronics
  • Paul Klipsch, Klipsch Audio Technologies
  • Dr. Woo Paik, General Instrument
  • Norio Ohga, Sony Corp.
  • Steven Wozniak, Apple Computer

    "With their unique creativity, persistence, and vision these 11 pioneers have championed the development of new technologies and concepts that have changed for the better the way we all live and work," said Gary Shapiro, CEA president and CEO.

    With the addition of the 2004 inductees, the CE Hall of Fame currently totals 86 members. New inductees will have their pictures and biographies on display at the 2004 International CES, January 8-11, 2004, in Las Vegas, NV, U.S. Inductees also will be showcased on CEA's website,, and honored during a special dinner at CEA's Industry Forum held October 18-20, 2004, in San Francisco, CA, U.S.

    Back to Breaking News