NAHB Names C. Kent Conine President
Jan 24, 2003
 Print this page

C. Kent Conine, a home and apartment builder from Dallas, TX, U.S., was elected 2003 president of the 205,000-member National Association of Home Builders (NAHB). The election was held during the U.S. association's 59th Annual Convention and Exposition in Las Vegas yesterday.

Mr. Conine is president of Conine Residential Group, which specializes in single-family building, single-family subdivision development and multifamily development. Since 1981, he has been responsible for the construction, management and development of more than 3,000 apartment units and the development of several residential communities with a total of more than 1,000 single-family lots.

"Together We Build the American Dream," which will serve as the central theme of Mr. Conine's presidency, expresses the NAHB federation's collective efforts to expand home ownership, housing affordability, and rental housing opportunities through advocacy on Capitol Hill, in the courts, and in the regulatory arena. The theme also is also intended to characterize the association's function as the Voice of the Housing Industry, a business sector that NAHB says plays a critical role in the U.S. economy and employs more than eight million workers nationwide.

"Most importantly, the housing industry will continue to be a driving force in the nation's economy in 2003, and we will work to safeguard this crucial role in order to ensure that the American dream is realizable for every family that seeks it," Mr. Conine said.

Mr. Conine said NAHB has set a number of goals to help promote home ownership, housing affordability, and rental housing opportunities in 2003. NAHB, he said, will:

  • work to enact a new home ownership tax credit in Congress
  • support creation of a secondary market for acquisition, development, and construction loans in the financing arena
  • continue pushing for state legislation to help resolve the liability insurance crisis
  • expand communications channels within and beyond the association

    Other NAHB appointments:

  • Bobby Rayburn, president of Rayburn and Associates in Jackson, MS, was installed as first vice president
  • David F. Wilson, president of Wilson Construction, LLC in Ketchum, IA, was named vice president/treasurer
  • David Pressly, president of Pressly Development Co. Inc. in Statesville, NC, was elected NAHB vice president/secretary
  • F. Gary Garczynski, 2002 president of NAHB and president of National Capital Land and Development Co. in northern Virginia, becomes the association's Immediate Past President

    Also a part of NAHB leadership roster is Jerry Howard, executive vice president and chief executive officer. Mr. Howard has been with NAHB since 1988.

    Back to Breaking News