Four Technologists Win CEA Awards for Innovation
Nov 15, 2011
 Print this page

The Consumer Electronics Association named the winners of its latest Technology and Standards Awards, its highest awards recognizing individual accomplishments in the industry’s leading technology and standards programs.

Jon Richardson, engineer for EchoStar Technologies Corp. was recognized with the 2011 Technology Achievement Award for substantial contributions to the development of the CEA-861, A DTV Profile for Uncompressed High Speed Digital Interfaces standard. The Technology Achievement Award focuses on an individual’s contributions to new technologies or significant improvements made to existing technologies and participation and leadership in CEA’s Technology & Standards program. Richardson has served as an HDMI technology expert for EchoStar since 2002. He represents EchoStar in CEA’s Video Systems Committee, DTV Interface Subcommittee, Residential Systems Committee, and Audio Systems Committee, and has participated in all 16 CEA-861 PlugFests. He serves as co-chair of CEA’s PlugFests working group.

Technology Leadership Awards, presented for commitment to excellence as evidenced by the extent and consistency of participation in the Technology & Standards program, went to:

Wayne Luplow, vice president of LG Electronics’ Zenith R&D subsidiary. Luplow has five decades experience in the TV industry and is best known for his leadership in digital TV technology and standards work. He is currently working on the deployment of the ATSC mobile digital television system, chairing CEA’s Video Systems Engineering Committee, and participating in CEA’s Television Data Systems Subcommittee and the DTV Interface Subcommittee. He is also an associate member of CEA’s Video Division Board.

Mark Eyer, director of systems for the Technology Standards Office of Sony Electronics. Eye has been involved with digital TV for 30 years and has made important contributions to many DTV standards published by CEA, the Society for Cable Telecommunications Engineers, and the Advanced Television Systems Committee. He represents Sony in various standards committees across the United States, contributing systems engineering expertise to Sony’s digital consumer electronics products.

James Tranchina, vice president of engineering at Audiovox Electronics Corp. Prior to Audiovox, Tranchina held several key engineering management positions in aerospace, medical, and industrial electronics systems. He has chaired CEA’s Portable Handheld and In-Vehicle Electronics Committee since 1997 and is a past chair of CEA’s Technology and Standards Council.

"CEA’s Technology and Standards Awards, now in their fourth year, honor leaders who drive innovation in the consumer electronics industry,” said Brian Markwalter, senior vice president of research and standards for CEA. “These designers, developers and engineers ensure that innovative technologies make the transition from an interesting idea on a company whiteboard to a new product that will excite consumers and spur demand.”

Back to Breaking News