Dow's Barton Receives National Medal of Science, Recognized by President Obama
Sep 29, 2011
 Print this page

President Obama recognized The Dow Chemical Company’s board of directors member Jacqueline K. Barton for her contributions to science and commitment to innovation. Barton, chair of the Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering and professor at the California Institute of Technology, was among seven recipients of the National Medal of Science, one of the highest honors bestowed by the U.S. government on scientists, engineers, and inventors.

Barton will receive her award at a White House ceremony later this year. She was recognized for research and discoveries of DNA properties.

"I congratulate Dr. Barton on this remarkable accomplishment,” said Dow Chairman and CEO Andrew N. Liveris. “At a time when the U.S. works to maintain and grow its role as the world’s innovation engine, passionate leaders like Dr. Barton inspire necessary achievement through science. I am honored to have Dr. Barton as a member of the Dow board of directors and look forward to her continued contributions to our company and to the field of science.”

Barton was elected to the Dow Board of Directors in 1993, and currently serves the Board as chair of the Environment, Health & Safety Committee and as a member of the Compensation and Leadership Development Committee. She is an Arthur and Marian Hanisch Memorial Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology, where she is also the Division Chair of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering.

Barton’s career in science spans three decades and boasts various prestigious honors including:
• Willard Gibbs Award, American Chemical Society (“ACS”) Breslow Award
• ACS William H. Nichols Medal Award
• Columbia University Medal of Excellence
• ACS Garvan Medal
• Mayor of New York’s Award in Science and Technology
• ACS Award in Pure Chemistry
• Alan T. Waterman Award of the National Science Foundation 1985

Barton was named MacArthur Foundation Fellow, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellow, the American Philosophical Society Fellow, member of the National Academy of Sciences and Outstanding Director by the Outstanding Director Exchange (ODX).

Back to Breaking News