Chandrasekhar Wins Samsung India Innovation Competition
Sep 26, 2011
 Print this page

K Chandrasekhar's 3nethra – a portable, non-invasive, low cost device that helps pre-screen for five eye major diseases – won the first Samsung Innovation Quotient Award at a Grande Finale event held in New Delhi.

Vijay Bhaskar Reddy was First Runner Up for the Kisan Raja, which allows farmers to remotely control agricultural motors using an Interactive Voice Response System on a mobile or landline phone

Second Runner Up was C Mallesham for developing the Laxmi Asu machine, which mechanizes the tedious process of pattern-weaving tie-dye Pochampalli silk saris, taking hours out of the process.

The first Samsung Innovation Quotient launched in May 2011 to recognize innovators in India who develop unique and extraordinary products or solutions. The competition received over 300 entries from across India. Choosing five finalists was a jury that included:
• Sandeep Farias, founder and managing director at Elevar Equity
• Dave Wallack, senior CEO, IFMR Ventures
• Suresh Venkat, editor, Technologies & Special Features, CNBC-TV18
• Krishan Sree Kumar, CEO Intellecap
• Dipesh Shah, vice president, Samsung India

The finale of the competition saw these five finalists present their innovations to a jury comprised of:
• Raman Roy, CMD, Quattro BPO Solutions
• Sasha Mirchandani, MD, Kae Capital
• Alok Kejriwal, CEO, Games2win
• Senthil Chengalvarayan, president and editorial director, TV 18 Business Media
• Mr. J S Shin, president and CEO, Samsung South West Asia

“Samsung Innovation Quotient was created under the aegis of Samsung Hope Project, our CSR Initiative, to promote innovations that benefit the Indian community at large," Shin said. "The theme of Samsung Innovation Quotient is Innovation for development and we are very happy that all the innovations that have been recognized at this forum are truly benefitting the community in their own unique way."

The final awards event was held in August in New Delhi and was attended by innovation leaders such as Professor Dinesh Mohan from IIT, Delhi; Dr H Harish Hande, MD, SELCO India; and other Industry and government representatives.

The competition was supported by Knowledge Partner-Intellecap, Honey Bee Network, National Innovation Foundation, and the website

Back to Breaking News