AHAM Honors Appliance Industry Leaders
May 5, 2011
 Print this page

The Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM) honored three industry leaders for their contributions and leadership in the home appliance industry and the association. The honors were bestowed during AHAM’s annual member meeting, Working For You in Washington, held May 1-2, 2011 in Washington, DC.

The Home Appliance Industry Leadership (HAIL) Award was presented to Vincent P. Anderson, project technical leader of government programs at Whirlpool Corp. Anderson was recognized with the industry’s top award for his substantial volunteer efforts in the past decade, particularly for technical support on issues such as the multi-product consensus energy standards agreement, AHAM’s refrigerator/freezer test standards, and the development of AHAM verification programs.

AHAM awards the Michael C. Thompson Public Policy Award to a recipient who demonstrates extraordinary effort and accomplishment in the area of public policy. This year’s recipient was Kevin Messner, AHAM’s vice president of government relations, who has led the industry’s public policy efforts for the past three years. Messner is instrumental in AHAM’s successful advocacy of public policy positions for the home appliance industry.

The AHAM Distinguished Service Award recognizes significant contributions by virtue of longevity and quality of service to AHAM and the home appliance industry. This year the award went to Steven G. Nackers, design engineer at Sub-Zero, Inc., who was very involved in AHAM’s Smart Grid Task Force. Nackers is the lead author of AHAM’s evaluation of communication protocols for smart grid technology, titled "Assessment of Communication Standards for Smart Appliances."

AHAM also awarded Kelley Kline of GE Appliances & Lighting and Brad Brush of Lasko Products with the Emerging Leader Award. This award, created in 2009, honors achievement and encourages continued service and industry leadership in AHAM activities.

Back to Breaking News