InSinkErator Honors NAHB Professional Women in Building
Jan 20, 2011
 Print this page

InSinkErator, maker of food waste disposers and instant hot water dispensers, and the National Association of Home Builders’ (NAHB) Professional Women in Building Council (PWB) honored outstanding members on January 19 with scholarships and awards. The awards ceremony took place at the 56th annual Professional Women in Building Spike Club Reception at the 2011 NAHB International Builders’ Show in Orlando.

Members who exceeded recruitment expectations in 2010 were awarded scholarships that their local council will use to provide financial assistance to students pursuing degrees relevant to the building industry. InSinkErator remains the council’s exclusive sponsor.

“Our support of the NAHB Professional Women in Building Council spans more than three decades,” said Dennis Broderick, vice president of wholesale sales at InSinkErator. “We admire and respect the work they do to build industry growth and encourage successful careers. Award recipients should be very proud of their recruitment efforts.”

NAHB Women’s Council Chair Tammie Smoot presented several Bob Cox Professional Women in Building Spike of the Nation Awards scholarship awards.

Carole Jones of the Home Builders Association (HBA) of the BIA (Building Industry Association) of Southeastern MI Professional Women in Building (PWB) was the council’s top recruiter in 2010, recruiting 24 first-time attendees. Jones received a recognition pin from the women’s council and a $500 scholarship.

Several regional award winners received a $350 scholarship and a recognition pin:
• Northeast Region A: Annemarie Mitchell of the newly chartered Capital Region PWB (New York)
• Southeast Region B: Olguita Dollison of the Huntsville/Madison County AL PWB
• Midwest Region C: Polly Marean of the HBA of Greater Des Moines PWB
• Midwest, Mid-South and Texas Region D: Danielle Breakfield of the Acadian (LA) Home Builders PWB
• American West Region E: Peggy Timmins of the North Idaho Building Contractors

Women in Building Spike Rookies of the Year awards went to regional winners who both began the year with zero new member credits and ended with 16 and 17 credits respectively. Credits are earned for each new member sponsored. Tying for first place as 2010 Rookie Super Heroes are:
• Annemarie Mitchell
• Danielle Breakfield

Back to Breaking News