ASHRAE Announces Student Design Winners
Aug 28, 2009
 Print this page

The 2009 ASHRAE Student Design Competition, which encourages students to become more involved with their chosen major through practical design, saw the largest number of entries to date.

This year’s Student Design Competition featured a 15,650-sq-ft office building with first floor parking, second floor retail and office space and third floor offices. Among the 32 schools that submitted entries, three in particular stood out as first place winners in the three categories that the Competition offers.

First place in HVAC System Design is awarded to Craig Allen, BrianSybesma, Chan Kim, William Raschefsky and Elyse Widin, of California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, CA. The students chose a ground-source heat pump with an energy recovery ventilation system for the building, citing the benefits of a GSHP’s minimal energy use and long life-span.

First place in HVAC System Selection is awarded to Kelly Griffith, James Newman, Phillip Podlasek and Darren Rottinghaus, of Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS. The students also selected a ground-source heat pump, with each heat pump piped in a direct return loop, rather than reverse return, in order to save on the amount of piping used. The GSHP also utilizes variable frequency drives to control the hydronic pump, which would decrease the energy consumption of said pumps.

[Home] [Contact Us] [Permissions] [Terms of Use and Privacy Policy] [Advertise] [Jobs] [Site Map]

Copyright ©2009, American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning

Back to Breaking News