AHRI Awards Scholarships
Sep 15, 2008
 Print this page

The Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) announced the 23 winners of the 2006 Clifford H. "Ted" Rees, Jr. Scholarship for the spring 2008 and fall 2008 semesters. AHRI’s Rees Scholarship was established to honor the legacy of Ted Rees, a former president of Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (now AHRI), and his efforts to encourage HVACR manufacturers to provide support to strengthen vocational and technical school education nationwide.

The scholarship was established to encourage students to pursue higher education and a career as heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVACR) technicians. The scholarship is an award up to US$2,000 for qualified students who are enrolled in an HVACR program at an accredited institution. The foundation awards more than 10 scholarships to deserving students twice a year before the fall and spring academic semesters. The Rees Scholarship Foundation has awarded nearly $90,000 to 49 deserving students between 2003 and 2008.

Selection criteria used by the review committee included academic performance, letters of recommendation, work history, and a short essay. More information about the Rees Scholarship can be found at http://www.ahrinet.org/education/rees/.

Back to Breaking News