CEA Names 2009 CE Hall of Fame Members
Apr 30, 2009
 Print this page

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) announced the 2009 class of inductees into the Consumer Electronics (CE) Hall of Fame. The leaders will be inducted into the CE Hall of Fame during CEA's Industry Forum in October.

The new members include:

• Dr. Irwin M. Jacobs, co-founder of Qualcomm, who led the commercialization of CDMA technology.
• The team of Karl Hassel and Ralph Mathews, founders of the Chicago Radio Laboratory, which later became Zenith Radio.

• Steve Jobs, co-founder and CEO of Apple Inc. who helped to create one of the first commercially successful PCs, the Macintosh (Mac).
• John Shalam founded Audiovox Corp. and helped establish the aftermarket car audio business and the mobile video business. He also has served as CEA Chairman.
• The late Neil Terk, founder of Terk Technologies, who introduced the Pi antenna in 1987. The Pi was selected to be sold through the Museum of Modern Art.

• Walton Stinson is president and co-founder of the Denver-based Listen Up audio/video specialty chain and also co-founded the Professional Audio Video Retailer's Association (PARA) in 1979.
• The Cohen brothers: Norman, Maurice and Philip, grew their father's Cambridge tire store in Boston into the discount retail giant Lechmere Sales that specialized in CE products.

Back to Breaking News