NAHB Opens Nominations for Green Building Awards
Nov 7, 2008
 Print this page

The National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) is accepting for the 2009 NAHB National Green Building Awards.

The annual awards honor home builders, remodelers, home builders' associations, and other organizations for advancing green building through innovative design and construction techniques, excellent educational programs and successful advocacy efforts.

The awards are presented at a gala dinner during the NAHB National Green Building Conference, May 8-10 in Dallas.

The awards are part of the NAHB National Green Building Program, NAHBGreen, which includes education, advocacy, marketing and certification services for green homes. Since NAHBGreen debuted in February 2008, homes have been certified in 20 states.

Organizers have made a number of improvements to this year's entry process to make it even easier to apply. To conserve paper, all applications must be submitted by mail on a compact disk. No binders or other application packets will be accepted. The entry deadline is Jan. 31, 2008.

NAHB has also introduced the Advocate of the Year -- State and Local Government Award to honor individuals or teams that promote green initiatives and go the extra mile to advance sustainable building and development strategies in their communities. Applications for the award must be submitted by the home builders' association in that jurisdiction.

Building and remodeling projects must have been started after June 2007 and substantially completed by December 2008 to be considered for an award.

Project entries can be scored to the green certification program of the applicant's choice, but must also be scored to the NAHB Model Green Home Building Guidelines -- the rating system for NAHBGreen -- to facilitate judging. NAHBGreen's online scoring tool will generate checklists that can easily be saved to the submission disk. The rating system can also be downloaded at

For more information, visit

Back to Breaking News