World Steel Association Elects New Officers; Welcomes New Members
Oct 7, 2008
 Print this page

The Board of Directors of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) has elected Lakshmi Mittal, chairman and CEO of ArcelorMittal as chairman of the association; and Ku-Taek Lee, Chairman and CEO, POSCO; Paolo Rocca, Chairman and CEO, Techint Group; and John Surma, chairman and CEO of U.S. Steel, as vice chairmen.

The 2008/2009 Executive Committee includes:
• Hajime Bada, JFE Steel Corp.
• Daniel DiMicco, Nucor Corp.
• Jorge Gerdau Johannpeter, Gerdau SA
• Karl-Ulrich Köhler, ThyssenKrupp AG
• Ku-Taek Lee, POSCO
• Lakshmi Mittal, ArcelorMittal
• Alexey Mordashov, Severstal JSC
• Shoji Muneoka, Nippon Steel Corp.
• Dr. M. Aydin Müderrisoglu, Erdemir
• Paolo Rocca, Techint Group
• John Surma, United States Steel Corp.
• Sakari Tamminen, Rautaruukki Oyj
• Philippe Varin, Corus Group
• Lejiang Xu, Baosteel Group
• Xiaogang Zhang, Anshan Iron & Steel Corp.
• Ian Christmas, World Steel Association

New members to the association include:
• Badische Stahlwerke GmbH., represented by Mrs Carolin Kramer, Co-Owner
• Deacero, S.A. de C.V., represented by Raul M. Gutierrez, Co-CEO
• Laiwu Steel Group, Ltd., represented by Song Lanxiang, Chairman of the Board
• Metalloinvest Management Company, represented by Maxim Gubiev, Chief Executive Officer
• Jindal Steel & Power Limited
• Malaysian Iron & Steel Federation

Back to Breaking News