ARI Recognizes Five Industry Leaders
Nov 29, 2006
 Print this page

Five industry leaders were recognized with special awards at the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute’s 53rd Annual Meeting, held November 12-14 in Palm Springs, California, U.S. The awards were presented by outgoing ARI Chairman Deborah Hawkins at an event attended by APPLIANCE magazine.

Former ASHRAE President Lee Burgett received the Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor bestowed by ARI, for his more than 44 years of service to the HVACR industry and in particular for his leadership in the development of industry standards. Burgett was a member and chairman of key ARI standing committees, including the ARI General Standards Committee from 1993-1997. In addition, Burgett has actively advanced industry standards in a number of related organizations, including ASHRAE, the U.S. Green Buildings Council, the Canadian Standards Association, Underwriter Laboratories, and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Three industry leaders received the 2006 Richard C. Schulze Distinguished Service Award for outstanding service to the industry:

  • Wayne Reedy, Carrier Corp., for his contributions within ARI and the industry. He served as chairman of ARI’s Unitary Small Equipment Section, the subcommittee on ARI Standard 290P, and the subcommittee for the integration of heat pump equipment standards.
  • Carl Bergt, Rheem Manufacturing, for his many hours working with ARI in the redesign and implementation of the new ARI Directory of Certified Product Performance. Bergt lent his expertise as chairman of ARI’s Unitary Small Compliance Committee and was instrumental in working with ARI members to ensure a smooth transition to the new 13 Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (SEER) federal minimum standard that became effective in January 2006.
  • Ralph Coppola, Hill Phoenix, for his instrumental role in merging the Commercial Refrigeration Manufacturers Association into ARI. He served as chairman of the CRM Division of ARI for two terms following the merger, and helped establish the strategic goals that CRMD continues to pursue. Coppola also foresaw the rapid regulatory changes that would affect the industry and recognized the need for an ARI commercial refrigeration standard and certification program with federal standards.

The Meritorious Service Award awards went to Mark Paquette, manager of certification programs for ETL, currently Intertek Testing Service Labs, for providing valuable, expert guidance on nearly every ARI standard developed in the past 40 years. His respected knowledge of product testing is unmatched and ARI members have greatly benefited from his expertise. Paquette has traveled the world performing witness tests for ARI and serving as an emissary of its certification programs.

Back to Breaking News