Society of Women Engineers Announces Awards
Oct 12, 2006
 Print this page

The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) announced Elaine S. Oran, Ph.D. the recipient of the 2006 SWE Achievement Award—the Society’s highest honor. The Achievement Award is the highest award given by the Society of Women Engineers. It is presented annually to a woman who has made an outstanding contribution over a significant period of time in a field of engineering. Her academic training may be in either science or engineering. She need not be a member of the Society. The main criteria for selection are based on the significance of the lifetime achievements cited on behalf of the nominee and on the sustained contributions of the nominee to the field of engineering.

Dr. Oran is being recognized for pioneering a computational technology that unifies engineering, scientific, and mathematical disciplines into a methodology for solving reactive flow problems.

Dr. Oran is the Senior Scientist for Reactive Flow Physics at the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) in Washington, D.C. As Senior Scientist, Dr. Oran’s current research includes development of numerical algorithms and the use of these algorithms in computerized models that describe a wide variety of complex fluid systems. These systems are used in research and applications ranging from microfluidics to astrophysics and cosmology. Her current work applies these simulation methods to design micron-sized devices for use in biosensors; design of micro-propulsion systems for use in air vehicles, space and planetary exploration; hazard reduction involved in the storage and handling of energetic materials including hydrogen fuels; basic physics of combustion processes involving flames; detonations and the transition to denotations; and explosions of supernovae.

The Achievement Award will be formally presented Friday night, Oct. 13, 2006, at SWE’s National Conference Awards Banquet in Kansas City, Missouri, U.S. The National Conference, “Women Blazing Technology Trails,” is being held at the Kansas City Convention Center, Oct. 12-14. The more than 4,000 attendees include professionals from every discipline of the engineering profession and a large number of engineering students and educators. Other awards include:

  • Yukako Uchinaga, general manager of the IBM’s Yamato Laboratory in Japan, Upward Mobility Award
  • Siddika Demir, manager of corporate services Six Sigma for Bechtel Corporation, Emerging Leaders Award
  • Donald A. Aker, technical operations manager for the Naval Undersea Warfare Center Division, Rodney D. Chipp Memorial Award
  • Margaret J. Lyons, P.E., director, metro sub-region for RCC Consultants, Inc., Fellow Membership
  • Stacy Kalisz Johnson, product marketing engineer for Agilent Technologies, Emerging Leaders Award in Sales & Marketing
  • Anne Kraft, product developer for Xcel Energy, Emerging Leaders Award in Safety, Health and Environment
  • Alyse Stofer, senior mechanical design engineer for Transoma Medical, Distinguished New Engineer Award
  • Nancy Wheeler-Nelson, general manager in the Engineering and Construction group at Trimble, Distinguished Service Award
  • Elizabeth Keller Bierman, product support engineer for Honeywell International Inc., Distinguished New Engineer Award
  • LeEarl Bryant, sole proprietor of Texas LAB Consultants, Distinguished Service Award
  • Erika Lyn Edgerly, the Fab 11 manufacturing engineering manager for Intel Corporation’s New Mexico site, Emerging Leaders Award in Manufacturing and Construction
  • Fernanda Philbrick, engineering manager for Intel Corporation, Emerging Leaders Award in Procurement/Logistics

    Back to Breaking News