ASHRAE Recognizes HVAC&R Industry Achievements
Jan 29, 2007
 Print this page

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) recognized 42 people for their contributions to ASHRAE and the HVAC&R industry at the Society’s 2007 Winter Meeting being held in Dallas, Jan. 27-31, 2007.

The ASHRAE Hall of Fame honors deceased members of the society who made milestone contributions to the growth of HVAC&R technology. The society inducted Mary Engle Pennington, Ph.D., whose pioneering work improved the safety of perishable foods, into the ASHRAE Hall of Fame. Pennington was the first female member of and a Fellow of The American Society of Refrigerating Engineers (ASRE), an ASHRAE predecessor society. She was known for her outstanding contributions to the refrigerated preservation of foods in storage.

The ASHRAE/ALCO Medal for Distinguished Public Service recognizes distinguished public service by an ASHRAE member. The recipient was David McKenney, P.E., Life Member, chairman and executive officer, McKenney’s Inc.: Mechanical Contractors and Engineers, Atlanta.

Fellow ASHRAE is a membership grade that recognizes distinction in the arts and sciences of environmental technology. The honor is earned through achievement as a researcher, designer, educator, or engineering executive. The society elevated 19 members to the grade of Fellow ASHRAE:

  • William A. Acorn, P.E., principal of Acorn Consulting Services, Tucson, Arizona, U.S.
  • Robert A. Bunn, P.E., Life Member, consulting engineer, Nashville, Tennessee, U.S.
  • Richard C. Cavestri, Ph.D., director and owner of Imagination Resources, Inc., Dublin, Ohio, U.S., a research firm.
  • Florea Chiriac, Ph.D., professor of thermodynamics, refrigeration and air-conditioning at the Technical University of Civil Engineering, Bucharest, Romania.
  • Cynthia L. Gage, Ph.D., senior research engineer with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, U.S.
  • Eckhard A. Groll, Ph.D., professor and the director of global initiatives, cooperative education and professional experience in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University.
  • Jeff S. Haberl, Ph.D., P.E., professor in the Department of Architecture and the director of the Energy Systems Laboratory at Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, U.S.
  • Mark M. Hydeman, P.E., principal at Taylor Engineering, Alameda, California, U.S.
  • Jiin-Yuh Jang, Ph.D., professor and chairman of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at National Cheng-Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan.
  • K. S. Kannan, Ph.D., P.Eng., C.Eng., chief project coordinator at the Malaysia Energy Centre, Selangor, Malaysia.
  • Yuguo Li, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Hong Kong.
  • Kent Peterson, P.E., founding principal and chief engineer of P2S Engineering, Long Beach, California.
  • Laurentino Punsalan, P.E., Life Member, managing partner of L.R. Punsalan & Associates, Makati City, Philippines.
  • K. Reinhard Radermacher, Ph.D., professor and a director/founder of the Center for Environmental Energy Engineering in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Maryland, U.S.
  • Peter Simmonds, Ph.D., associate with IBE Consulting Engineers, Sherman Oaks, California.
  • Sriram Somasundaram, Ph.D., staff scientist at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory in Richland, Washington, U.S.
  • Shin-ichi Tanabe, Dr.Eng., professor in the Department of Architecture at Waseda University, Tokyo.
  • Kuan-Hsiung Yang, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Mechanical and Electro-Mechanical Engineering, National Sun Yat-Sen University, Taiwan.
  • Hiroshi Yososhino, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Architecture and Building Sciences at Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan.

The ASHRAE Technology Awards recognize outstanding achievements by members who have successfully applied innovative building designs, which incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and indoor air quality. Three projects received first-place ASHRAE Technology Awards:

  • Matt Younger, P.E., principal of Stantec Consulting, Seattle, Washington, received first place in the new health care facilities category for his design for the Washington Department of Veterans Affairs, Retsil, Washington.
  • Receiving first place in the new industrial facilities or processes category were Pierre Roussel, P.E., vice president of the mechanical division, and Jacques Lagace, P.E., vice president of innovation and major projects, at Bouthillette Parizeau & Associates for their design of the thermal plant at the Pierre-Elliot Trudeau Airport in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.
  • Daniel Pare, project manager for IBM in Bromont, Quebec, Canada, received first place in the existing industrial facilities or processes category for his design for an IBM semiconductor packaging facility in his hometown.

Projects receiving ASHRAE Technology Awards honorable mentions were:

  • Ronald Gagnon, president, Concept-R Inc., Sorel-Tracy, Quebec, Canada, new commercial buildings category, Comptoir Richelieu Botanix, Sorel-Tracy, Quebec, Canada.
  • George Karidis, P.E., vice president and director of mechanical engineering, SmithGroup Inc., Detroit, new commercial buildings category, Visteon Village's corporate headquarters in Van Buren Township, Michigan.
  • Ronald Henning, P.E., principal, SmithGroup Inc., Detroit, new institutional buildings category, University of Michigan's Life Sciences Institute, Ann Arbor, Michigan.
  • Norman J. Brown, P.E., principal, CDi Engineers, Lynwood, Wash., public assembly category, Seattle Center Marion Oliver McCaw Hall Renovation, Seattle, Wash.

The ASHRAE Student Design Project Competition challenged teams of undergraduate students to focus on the mixed-use renovation of the Dallas Power & Light building in a historic area of Dallas.

First place winners in the HVAC system selection and HVAC system design categories were awarded to the same team from The Pennsylvania State University: Justin Bern, Kevin Kaufman, David Melfi, Jon Gridley, Jessica Lucas, and Yulien Wong. Their faculty advisor is William P. Bahnfleth, Ph.D, P.E.

First place in the architectural design category was awarded to Alissa Ogen and Sonia Carias of Savannah College of Art and Design. Their faculty advisor is Emad M. Afifi, Ph.D.

The E.K. Campbell Award honors outstanding achievements by engineering educators. The recipient was Ronald H. Howell, Ph.D., P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, who serves as an adjunct lecturer at Boise State University in Boise, Idaho, U.S.

The John F. James International Award is given to an ASHRAE member who has enhanced the Society’s international presence. The recipients were:

  • Constantinos Balaras, Ph.D., P.E., research director, Institute for Environmental Research and Sustainable Development, National Observatory of Athens, Greece
  • Ross Montgomery, P.E., president, QST Honeywell Controls, Palmetto, Florida, U.S.

Back to Breaking News