Global Supplier Directory
Supplier Solutions
Whitepaper Library
Calendar of Events
Association Locator
Contents Pages
Market Research
Subscription Center

Daily News

CEA Awards Industry Innovators
Oct 26, 2004
 Printable format
 Email this Article

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) and leaders from throughout the consumer electronics industry honored 11 new inductees into the Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame. The awards dinner took place during CEA's annual Industry Forum held on Oct. 19 in San Francisco, CA, U.S. The event brought together more than 600 leaders from throughout the consumer electronics industry for a series of educational and networking events combined with panel discussions, keynote presentations, and industry leadership meetings.

"As today's industry leaders gathered at our Industry Forum to discuss opportunities to help ensure the continued growth of our industry, it is only fitting that we take time to honor those whose achievements made possible today's $100 billion consumer electronics industry," said Gary Shapiro CEA president and CEO. "These 11 pioneers join the 75 already inducted into the pantheon of great leaders who exemplify the hallmark of our industry -- innovation."

The awards dinner saluted the following individuals for their contribution toward the advancement of the electronics industry:

  • Alan Dower Blumlein worked primarily for EMI in London, where he registered 128 patents, mostly in audio engineering, television, and radar. His more influential patent was one for "binaural audio output," better known as stereo.
  • Henry Brief worked 40-plus years as leader of the two largest trade associations in the recording and blank media industries, the International Recording Media Association, and the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).
  • Joel Engel and Richard Frankiel co-developed the cellular phone system architecture. This system was dubbed AMPS -- Advanced Mobile Phone Service. In 1994, Mr. Engel and Mr. Frankiel jointly received the National Medal of Technology from President Clinton.
  • Bob Gerson has been a long-time consumer electronics journalist and editor. He is the founding editor of TWICE and was a writer and editor at TV Digest.
  • Ken Kai founded Pioneer America and Pioneer Video. In so doing, he built the U.S. market for Japanese consumer electronics companies with high-fidelity products along with the introduction of optical disc technology with the laserdisc. In 1984, Kai was inducted into the Video Hall of Fame under the "Pioneer in Home Video" category.
  • Jerry Kalov has been an influential figure in the consumer electronics industry for more than 40 years. He served as president and CEO of Cobra Electronics, president and COO of Harman International Industries, and president and CEO of JBL. He also served as chairman of the Electronic Industries Alliance (EIA) and is currently CEA's executive industry advisor. He recently received CEA's Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • Paul Klipsch put his own name on the loudspeaker company he founded in 1946. He developed the Klipschorn loudspeaker, the longest continuously manufactured speaker. He is also the founder of Klipsch Audio.
  • Dr. Woo Paik led the development of DigiCipher, the digital compression technology that is the basis for digital television broadcasting. He was also instrumental in leading the development of VideoCipher, the de facto standard for distribution of scrambled cable channels over satellite. Dr. Paik holds 24 U.S. patents.
  • Norio Ohga served as president, CEO, and chairman of Sony Corp. He oversaw the adoption of the compact cassette, CD, MiniDisc and PlayStation formats. He also facilitated Sony's purchase of CBS Records (now Sony records) and Columbia Pictures (now Sony Pictures).
  • Steve Wozniak developed the first recognizable personal computer. He helped to design the Apple IIe, the world's most popular PC for many years. Mr. Wozniak co-founded the Electronic Frontier Foundation. In 2000, he was inducted into the Inventors Hall of Fame and was awarded the Heinz Award for Technology, the Economy and Employment.

    Now in its fifth year, the CE Hall of Fame honors the visionaries that have made the consumer electronics industry what it is today. Leadership, resourcefulness, and vision are among the qualities possessed by CE Hall of Fame inductees. To choose the latest honorees, a panel of 17 consumer electronics media and industry leaders judged the nominations that were submitted by manufacturers, retailers, and industry journalists. The judges used the democratic process of the majority votes to determine the eleven new honorees.

    With the addition of the 11 2004 inductees, the CE Hall of Fame now has 86 members. The 2005 class of inductees will be announced at the 2005 International CES being held Jan. 6-9, 2005 in Las Vegas, NV, U.S.

    Back to Daily News


    Daily News


    Dec 22, 2014: Whirlpool headquarters improvements start a new phase

    Dec 22, 2014: DOE's Building Technologies Office releases Roadmap for Emerging HVAC Technologies

    Dec 22, 2014: Variable-speed circulation pump enables new Miele lab washers

    Dec 22, 2014: The latest retail data breach: Staples

    Dec 22, 2014: Consumer Spending Index is at its highest point of the year

    More Daily News>>

    RSS Feeds
    Appliance Industry
    Market Research


    November 2014: Appliance Magazine Market Insight Annual Subscriptions
    November 2014: U.S. Appliance Industry: Market Value, Life Expectancy & Replacement Picture 2014
    October 2014: Portrait of the European Appliance Industry
    September 2014: Appliance Industry Focus: HVAC

    Contact Us | About Us | Subscriptions | Advertising | Home
    UBM Canon © 2015  

    Please visit these other UBM Canon sites

    UBM Canon Corporate | Design News | Test & Measurement World | Packaging Digest | EDN | Qmed | Plastics Today | Powder Bulk Solids | Canon Trade Shows